What to do After a Car Accident if You Don’t Have Insurance in Greenville NC?

What to do After a Car Accident if You Don't Have Insurance in Greenville NC

There is no way to prepare for car accidents. They are a shock to the system and disrupt our entire lives. If you are involved in a car accident in Greenville, North Carolina, and you don’t have insurance, your stress may be doubled. This is why it is important to have car insurance coverage to prepare for all outcomes after a car accident.

Contact a Greenville auto accident lawyer today if you have any questions about what to do after a car accident when you’re insured.

North Carolina Car Insurance Coverage Requirements

All vehicles with North Carolina registration must have continuous liability insurance provided by a North Carolina licensed company.

In North Carolina, you must have a minimum of:

Bodily Injury Coverage – $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident. Bodily injury coverage is insurance that helps pay for the injuries of others if you are found at fault in a car accident. It also covers you and your passengers if you are injured in an accident.

Property Damage – ​$25,000 – Property damage coverage is insurance that pays for the damage to other people’s cars or property resulting from the car accident.

What to Do After a Car Accident if You Don’t Have Insurance

If you are involved in a car accident, and you don’t have insurance, there are a few things that you can do to protect yourself.

  • Contact the police – The first thing you should do after an accident is call the police. A law enforcement officer will come to the scene of the accident and investigate what happened. They will also create a report that can be used in court if you need to file a claim. It is important, to be honest with the other driver, and law enforcement about your insurance status. Dishonesty in this situation may cause further issues.
  • Exchange information with the other driver – This includes your name, address, phone number, driver’s license number, and the other driver’s insurance company information.
  • Take pictures of the accident scene – It is always a good idea to take pictures of the scene of the accident. This can help prove what happened in court if needed.
  • Seek medical treatment – If you are injured in a car accident, it is important to see a doctor immediately. The doctor will be able to treat your injuries and provide you with a medical report that can be used in court.
  • Contact a Greenville car accident attorney – If you need help filing a claim. They will be able to guide you through the process and help you get the compensation that you deserve.

If you follow these steps, you will be better prepared if you need to file a claim after an accident.

Can I Be Sued if I’m Uninsured in Greenville, North Carolina?

Yes, you can be sued if you are uninsured and involved in an accident. If you are the at-fault driver, the other party can file a claim through their own insurance company, but they may also choose to sue you for damages. This could include medical expenses, property damage, and lost wages. Your personal assets, such as a car, home, boat, etc., can be used to pay for a crash victim’s personal injuries.

This is why it is important to have insurance coverage to protect yourself from being sued in the event of an accident. Car insurance would protect your assets from being seized if the car accident caused personal injury or property damage to another person or their vehicle.

Penalties For Driving Uninsured In Greenville, North Carolina

Liability insurance law is strictly enforced in North Carolina. Insurance companies are required to notify N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles if liability insurance on a vehicle is canceled, or coverage lapses for any reason.

You must contact the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles directly to explain a lapse in your insurance coverage or show proof of new insurance. You must pay penalties and fees within 10 days of notice or be subject to civil penalties, late fees, interest, and revocation of your license plates. 

If you have been involved in a car crash and were not insured at the time, you will have your license suspended for up to one year. Additionally, North Carolina drivers will receive three points on their driving record.

Contact a Greenville Car Accident Lawyer Today

If you have been in a car accident in Greenville, North Carolina and either you or the other driver was uninsured, please do not hesitate to contact an experienced car accident lawyer. The Law Offices of Jason E. Taylor, P.C. Our experienced car accident attorneys are licensed in North and South Carolina. We value the attorney-client relationship and will do everything to assist you through your car accident case.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Testimonials
Subscribe to Monthly Newsletter