In 2019, there were over 3,000 car accidents in Concord. If you’re involved in a car accident, your stress level is already high, and you may be facing medical bills and time off from work on top of suffering from your injuries. If the at-fault driver in the accident doesn’t have car insurance, your stress could increase. The good news is that you do have options, even if the other driver doesn’t have insurance.
At The Law Offices of Jason E. Taylor, our Concord car accident lawyers have years of experience helping car accident victims get the compensation they deserve. We will work with the insurance company to ensure that you are fairly compensated for your losses. Contact us today for a free consultation.
North Carolina Auto Insurance Requirements
All drivers in North Carolina are required to have auto insurance. The minimum amount of coverage required is
- Bodily injury (one person) – $30,000
- Bodily injury (two or more people) – $60,000
- Property damage – $25,000
However, we recommend that you purchase more than the minimum amount of coverage. This will ensure that you are fully protected in the event of an accident.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
North Carolina drivers must purchase coverage for uninsured motorists. If you are in a car accident caused by an uninsured driver, this coverage can help protect you from out-of-pocket costs.
Underinsured motorist coverage is optional coverage that is highly recommended. Underinsured motorist coverage kicks in when the at-fault driver’s insurance is insufficient to cover your damages. However, you don’t have as much underinsured coverage as you think you might. For example, the minimum limits for liability coverage in North Carolina is $30,000 as stated above. The next level of coverage is typically $50,000 if you have underinsured motorist coverage. But, that does not mean you have $50,000 on top of the $30,000 from the at-fault driver. Your insurance company gets a credit for the $30,000 from the at-fault driver, so you only have $20,000 in underinsured motorist coverage for a total of $50,000.
Liability Insurance Coverage
Under the North Carolina Insurance Law, all drivers must have liability coverage provided by a North Carolina licensed company. This coverage protects drivers and their passengers against injuries and property damage caused by negligent drivers.
What Happens If Someone Drives Without Insurance in Concord, North Carolina?
Car insurance is not optional in North Carolina. You must carry the minimum requirements even if you are only driving for a short period of time. Driving without insurance in North Carolina may result in several penalties, including criminal charges, fines, loss of driving privileges, and civil penalties.
What Does Uninsured Motorist Insurance Cover?
If you are involved in a motor vehicle accident with an uninsured motorist, your uninsured motorist insurance will cover the damages caused up to your policy limits. This includes:
- Medical Expenses – Medical bills are the costs of treating injuries resulting from an accident. These expenses can include ambulance rides, hospital stays, and doctor’s visits.
- Lost Wages – If you cannot work due to an accident, you may be able to recover lost wages. This would be the amount of money you earned if you could work.
How Much Will My Insurance Company Pay Me?
If you are involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, your insurance company may pay for your damages. However, they will likely only pay up to your policy limit.
For example, if you have a $50,000 policy and you suffer $60,000 in damages, your insurance company will likely only pay $50,000.
Will My Insurance Rates Increase After an Accident With an Uninsured Driver?
Your insurance rates should not increase after an accident with an uninsured driver. This typically only happens if you were found to be at fault for the accident.
If you were not at fault for the accident, your insurance rates should not go up.
What Are My Options If I Am Injured By An Uninsured Driver in Concord, NC?
If an uninsured driver injures you in Concord, NC, you have a few options. You can file a claim with your own insurance company or sue the at-fault driver. If you decide to sue the at-fault driver, you will need to prove that they were at fault for the accident and that you were injured. This can be difficult to do on your own and in most instances, people who have assets have insurance to protect those assets, so we recommend working with an experienced car accident lawyer.
What to Do After a Car Accident with an Uninsured/Underinsured Driver in Concord, North Carolina
If you are involved in a car crash with an uninsured or underinsured driver in Concord, NC, you should first call the police. Once the police arrive, they will create a report of the accident. The police report will be important when filing a claim with your insurance company or taking legal action against the at-fault driver. In fact, you may not even know the other driver is uninsured until after the police arrive, or sometimes even for weeks after an accident.
After you have called the police, you should seek medical attention, even if you don’t think you are injured. Some injuries, such as whiplash, may not present themselves until days or weeks after the accident. Once you have seen a doctor, you should contact an experienced car accident lawyer.
At The Law Offices of Jason E. Taylor, our Concord car accident lawyers have years of experience helping automobile accident victims get the compensation they deserve. We will work with the insurance company to ensure that you are fairly compensated for your losses.
Should I Hire an Attorney for an Underinsured/Uninsured Driver Claim?
There are many benefits to hiring an attorney for an uninsured/underinsured driver claim. Your attorney will be able to investigate the accident and gather evidence to prove that the other driver was at fault. They will deal with insurance companies, so you don’t have to and fight for you to get the full amount of compensation you deserve.
Finally, your attorney will take care of all the paperwork and legal deadlines associated with your claim.
The Statute of Limitations for a Personal Injury Lawsuit in Concord, North Carolina
If you consider filing a personal injury lawsuit against an uninsured driver, it is important to be aware of the statute of limitations. In North Carolina, the statute of limitations for most personal injury claims is three years. This means that you have three years from the date of the accident to file a lawsuit. However, uninsured motorist claims must be filed and served BEFORE the three-year anniversary of the collision.
If you do not file your lawsuit within this time frame, you will likely be barred from recovery. This is why it is important to contact an experienced car accident lawyer as soon as possible after your accident and talk to your attorney about the statute of limitations in your particular case.
Contact a Concord Car Accident Attorney Today
If you have been injured in a motor vehicle due to someone else’s negligence or recklessness, you deserve fair compensation for your injuries.
Our Concord auto accident attorneys have experience with all types of personal injury cases. We are not afraid to take on insurance companies to help you obtain fair compensation. We value the attorney-client relationship and will work tirelessly to protect your rights.
Contact The Law Offices of Jason E. Taylor today for your free initial consultation and learn more about what we can do to help you. We will answer your questions and explain all of your legal options.