Driving in Charlotte can be stressful. Traffic is constant and everywhere throughout the city. Whether you’re going to a concert in Uptown or making your way to the Charlotte Motor Speedway, the chance of an accident is high. Unfortunately, this also means that getting into car accidents with an uninsured or underinsured driver is high.
Although carrying uninsured motorist coverage (UM) is required in North Carolina, underinsured motorist coverage (UIM) is not, and unfortunately many drivers choose to go without it. When you have UM or UIM coverage, you can file a claim with your own insurance policy and let your insurance company subrogate against the at-fault driver. However, many accident victims are concerned that filing a claim for UM or UIM under their own policy will make their insurance rates go up.
North Carolina Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements
All vehicles registered in North Carolina must have continuous liability insurance provided by a North Carolina licensed insurance provider.
In North Carolina, you must have a minimum of:
Bodily Injury Coverage – $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident. Bodily injury coverage is insurance that helps pay for the injuries of others if you are found at fault in a car accident. It also covers you and your passengers if you are injured in an accident. This means that the most any one person can recover for their personal injury claim is $30,000 and that the most the insurance company will pay out on the entire claim for all the people injured is $60,000. Therefore, if there are more than two injured people in a collision, for example, a mom and dad with two kids, the total maximum payout would be $60,000 for all four claimants.
Property Damage – $25,000 – Property damage coverage is insurance that pays for the damage to other people’s cars or property resulting from the car accident. But again, if there are multiple vehicles involved, or if you have an expensive vehicle, this minimum coverage requirement can quickly be exhausted.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Uninsured motorist coverage is included in auto insurance policies along with your liability coverage. It pays for injuries to you and your passenger if you are involved in a car accident that is not your fault and where the at-fault driver does not have any car insurance. Underinsured motorist protection is extra coverage over and above the minimum requirements that would kick in when the at-fault party does not have enough insurance to cover the damages.
What Does UM/UIM Motorist Insurance Cover?
Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance will cover the following:
- Medical expenses
- Lost wages
- Pain and suffering
If you are involved in a car accident with an at-fault driver who does not have any car insurance or does not have enough insurance to cover the damages, you should contact a Charlotte car accident attorney as soon as possible. At The Law Offices of Jason E. Taylor, we will help you with your insurance claim and ensure you receive the compensation you deserve.
How to File Underinsured and Uninsured Motorist Claims
If you are involved in a car accident with an at-fault driver who does not have any car insurance or does not have enough insurance to cover the damages, you can make a claim with your own insurance company.
You will need to provide the following information to your insurance company:
- Your name, address, and phone number
- The name, address, and phone number of the other driver
- A police report (if available)
- Any medical bills or reports
- Proof of car repairs
If you are involved in a car accident with an at-fault driver who does not have any car insurance or does not have enough insurance to cover the damages, you should contact a car accident attorney as soon as possible as your obligations are different than they would be to the insurance company for the at-fault driver. At The Law Offices of Jason E. Taylor in Charlotte, we will help you properly file your insurance claim and ensure you receive the compensation you deserve.
Will an Underinsured or Uninsured Motorist Claim Raise My Insurance Premiums?
In North Carolina, an insurance company cannot charge insurance points when the accident is not your fault. This means that you can file an uninsured or underinsured motorist claim without worrying about your rates going up.
However, if you are found to be at fault for the accident, your rates may increase. This is usually at the discretion of your insurance company and is dependent on various factors.
Contact a Personal Injury Attorney Today
Charlotte is a big city and as it continues to grow, so does the risk of car accidents. If you have been seriously injured due to someone else’s negligence or recklessness, you deserve fair compensation for your injuries.
Our attorneys have experience with all kinds of personal injury cases, including car accidents. We are not afraid to take on insurance companies to help you obtain fair compensation. We value the attorney-client relationship and will work tirelessly to protect your rights.
Contact The Law Offices of Jason E. Taylor today for your free consultation and learn more about what we can do to help you. We will answer your questions and explain all of your legal options.